I’m fairly new to the Ruby on Rails web application framework. I just started learning it about eight months ago when I started developing my web app.

I’ll share a story with you about my experience with Rails, and maybe you’ll be intrigued enough to try it out for yourself.

About My Web App

CompVersions is a web application that allows designers to upload multiple versions of their designs so that their clients can easily give them a thumbs up or a thumbs down as well as provide comments as necessary.

Here are some images of the app:

The idea for the app comes from my previous experiences working with multiple designers. I have, at various points in the past, worked on projects where I was either project lead or project manager and I had to coordinate designs and feedback from multiple designers and stakeholders.

Getting and forwarding emails with PDF files as attachments and notes specifying the line and page number in the PDF was not cutting it anymore.

I tried the popular project management app, Basecamp (also built on top of Rails, by the way), but it wasn’t designed for this problem, so it didn’t work the way I needed it to.

I decided to build my own solution.

A friend of mine (Hector) is on a similar journey (building a web app/site while still learning about the framework), but he is in "Microsoft Land" — .Net, IIS servers, MSDN — the whole nine yards.

I was explaining to him why I love Ruby on Rails (RoR for short), and how it completely abstracts the pain of doing things like database queries (although, if you want to work with them, you surely can).

I was trying to find a real-world example of what I meant, but all I found were the regular "build a blog in 15 minutes" tutorials and articles that take you through the entire app development process.

I didn’t want that, so I started looking through my code and realized that I have the perfect use case to highlight how wonderful it is to use Rails.